g   r o u n d     a   n d     s   k y
   h o m e   |   r e v i e w s   |   a r t i c l e s   |   p r e f s   |   l i n k s   |   a b o u t
   #    a    b    c    d    e    f    g    h    i    j    k    l    m    n    o    p    q    r    s    t    u    v    w    x    y    z    all    search

Musea Records (FGBG 4126.AR)
France 1978

Patrick Woindrich, bass, guitar, vocals; Nicolas Popowski, guitar, vocals; Francois Faugieres, organ, Mellotron, vocals; Pierre Kuti, acoustic and electric pianos, synths; Bernard Minig, drums; Marc Meryl, lead vocals, tambourine; with Philippe Honore, flute, saxophone; Yves Javault, vocals; Christine Mariey, voice; Martine Rateau, voice

1.  Le Chamadère — 13:51
2.  Piano Caveau — 7:18
3.  In The Screen Side Of Your Eyes — 4:04
4.  Toutes Ces Images — 8:07
5.  La Guêpe — 8:39
6.  L'adieu Au Pierrot — 0:59
7.  Final — 3:03
8.  L'hiver (les quatre sainsons de l'enfer lère partie) (live) — 4:39
9.  Le Pierrot (live) — 5:07
10.  L'adieu (live) — 3:22
11.  Piano Caveau (instrumental & different mix) — 7:16

total time 66:25

buy this cd from amazon.com

Pretty interesting dark prog from 1970s France, which borders somewhere between symphonic rock and Crimsonish hard rock. The dark sound is accomplished mostly by an aggressive vocal style and the very rough, almost grungy timbre of both the guitar and the keys and synths. Not for the faint of heart or for those who enjoy symphonic rock solely for its more beautiful moments. The sound here is harshly alien for the most part (but there are some moments of strange beauty, to be sure), though still distinctly French. Compositions are solid if nothing really amazing or memorable; the first four tracks of the seven original ones are the best. I haven't found much merit in the four (!) bonus tracks just yet. The opening epic is superb, maintaining an otherworldly, claustrophobic mood throughout, and ending on a resigned, pessimistic note. The third track is somewhat atypical and at times sounds almost Italian, with its touches of flute and generally less oppressive feel. Some people complain about the "theatric French vocals", but I don't have a problem with them - they are a bit gravelly and and sometimes loud, but otherwise don't really get in the way. Overall I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys the French theatric bands such as Ange - this is a solid release, above average but not classic.


© ground and sky